Mission

Museion is the museum for modern and contemporary art in Bolzano. At our core, we are committed to fostering international art, culture and innovation in South Tyrol. In an ever-evolving county-wide urban environment we strive to enhance the quality of cosmopolitan living and leisure, cultivating both creative vitality and critical thinking. We believe that our cultural heritage isn’t set in stone; it’s a dynamic force, constantly evolving through conversations with artists, thinkers, and creators, and guided by a foundation of inclusive civic values. This is reflected in our exhibitions, in the collection and in the public formats.

Third Earth Archive, HOPE Exhibition view  Luca Guadagnini

Museion serves society by collecting, preserving, researching, interpreting and exhibiting tangible and intangible cultural heritage. Our audience spans the globe, with an unwavering focus on building meaningful relationships with artists. We aim to set a pioneering example for a contemporary museum model, one that evolves to align with the ever-changing social dynamics of our times. Simultaneously, we uphold our vision of sustainability, aiming to be an agent of growth and empowerment, while also being a significant employer where every team member plays a pivotal role.

Otis Mensah, Spoken Word Poetry, Participatory Residency as part of Museion Art Club Samira Mosca
Open
Slideshow

Stay informed on Museion’s exhibitions, events, projects and much more –– subscribe to our monthly Newsletter here

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

The Collection

The Museion collection was established at the end of the 1980s and currently features around 4,400 works. It is the result of a targeted policy of acquisitions, loans and donations and in collaboration with private collections.

Library

The library conserves around 30,000 catalogs and monographs, 800 rare and artists’ books, and 30 subscriptions to international journals.

Museion Team

Director
Bart van der Heide
directorsoffice@museion.it
Curatorial Team
Curator
Leonie Radine
leonie.radine@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 20
Research curator
Frida Carazzato
frida.carazzato@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 38
Curatorial Assistant
Mette Zannato
mette.zannato@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 58
Exhibition organization - Publications
Head exhibition organization - Publications
Petra Guidi
petra.guidi@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 24
Exhibition organization - Publications
Giulia Albarello
giulia.albarello@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 23
Exhibition organization - Publications
Susanna Piccoli
susanna.piccoli@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 25
Technician
Carlo Degasperi
carlo.degasperi@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 49
Collection – archive
Head collection – archive
Elena Bini
elena.bini@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 40
Conservation
Daniela Ferrari-Ferratello
daniela.ferrari@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 41
Cataloging
Katia Cont
katia.cont@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 43
Business Development & Communication
Head business development & communication
Cristina Ferretti
cristina.ferretti@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 19
Press Office & PR
Mara Vicino
Mara.Vicino@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 39
Web & Social Media Manager
Christina Vieira-Barry
christinacolette.vieirabarry@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 29
Events Management
Sofia Conti
Sofia.Conti@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 31
Bookshop – Infocenter
Letizia Basso
Letizia.basso@museion.it
Bookshop – Infocenter
Katherina Federer
Katherina.federer@museion.it
Bookshop – Infocenter
Barbara Riva
Barbara.riva@museion.it
Library
Facility Management, Safety & IT
Facility Technician
Cristian Micheloni
cristian.micheloni@museion.it
+ 39 0471 22 34 36
Events and IT Technician
Leonardo Rubboli
leonardo.rubboli@museion.it
+ 39 0471 22 34 48
Visitor services – Educational projects
Head visitor services – Educational projects
Brita Köhler
brita.koehler@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 34
Secretary
Judith Weger
judith.weger@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 35
Project management
Laura Pernechele
laura.pernechele@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 26
Project management (temporarily on leave)
Roberta Pedrini
Central services
Director’s Secretary
Dietlinde Engl
dietlinde.engl@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 65
Director’s Secretary
Katja Vigl-Fink
katja.vigl@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 17
Legal & Procurement Compliance
Patrizia Furgiuele
patrizia.furgiuele@museion.it
+ 39 0471 22 34 28
Human Resources
Cinzia Mantovani
cinzia.mantovani@museion.it
+ 39 0471 22 34 42
Finance & Controlling
Manuela Inderst-Cazzanelli
manuela.inderst@museion.it
+39 0471 22 34 18
Surveillance
Surveillance
Claudia Gianella
info@museion.it
Surveillance
Saman Kalantari
info@museion.it
Surveillance
Antonio Villa
info@museion.it
Surveillance
Catia Zarattin
info@museion.it
Art mediators
Annika Elisabeth Althoff
Dorothea Arbesser
Irene Delvai
Jeva Griskjane
Irene Lombardi
Alexandra Paloma Angerer
Alexandra Pichler
Alessia Sebastiani
Marta Tonelli
Veronika Vascotto

Museion Foundation

Since 2006 Museion is a foundation of private law that includes the Autonomous Province of Bolzano-South Tyrol and the Museion Private Founders (formerly the Museion Association).

In 1987 Museion began its activities in the former hospital building in Via Sernesi, under the direction of Pier Luigi Siena and the presidency of Karl Nicolussi-Leck. In 2000, Alois Lageder took over as president, and the vision of a museum as a place for discussion and a workshop for producing artworks grew over time. Under the direction of Andreas Hapkemeyer (2000 - 2006) the museum initiated a focus on linguistic structures in art.

In 2007, a year after the founding was established, Corinne Diserens was appointed director of the Museion Foundation. During her directorship, the museum moved to its new home in Via Dante, designed by the Berlin-based architectural firm KSV - Krüger Schubert Vandreike. The new building, a visually striking piece of architecture with large transparent façades that connect the old and new parts of the city, opened in May 2008. From the end of 2008 to May 2020, Letizia Ragaglia directed the Museion Foundation. In 2010, the Province of Bolzano appointed the art historian and curator, Marion Piffer Damiani, President of the Foundation. In June 2020, the art historian Bart van der Heide took over as director.

In accordance with its statutes, one of the key goals of Museion is to promote and highlight contemporary art from the 1950s onwards. The institution acts as a meeting point for international art and a means of support for South Tyrolean art.

Governing Board of the Museion Foundation
Marion Piffer Damiani
President
Federico Giudiceandrea
Vice-President
Peter Paul Kainrath
Marisa Giurdanella
Hannes Gamper
Paolo Vanoni
Auditors of the Museion Foundation
Sandra Lando
Sara Faes

Museion Private Founders

In addition to the general activities of Museion, the Museion Private Founders (MPF) support in particular the realisation of Museion Art Club, by providing networks between the creative sector and private entrepreneurship in South Tyrol.

Board Museion Private Founders
Federico Giudiceandrea
President
Eva von Ingram Harpf
Vicepresident
Traudi Messini
Ivan Rampelotto
Patrizia Spadafora
Franz Staffler
Auditor
Matteo Di Stefano
Museion Private Founders - Corporate Partners
Microtec
HMC
Dorotheum